self-publishing success for indie aiuthors


Nobel Prize In Literature

Nobel Prize for Literature Infographic

Alfred Nobel, the Swedish industrialist known for his invention of dynamite, who died November 27, 1895, left the majority of his fortune in trust for the creation of the famous academic prizes awarded in his name. Awarded annually since 1901 (except for 7 years in the WWII period), the Nobel Prizes recognize excellence in Chemistry, Literature, Peace, Physics, and Physiology or Medicine. The Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences was added in1968.

The Nobel Prize for Literature is the one most known by the general public as they have most likely heard of the recipients, whereas the others tend to be more known in the ranks of academia. – a highly respected writing service – has created a fun infographic summarizing the history of the Literature Prize and shared some fun facts.

The recipient of the Nobel Prize for Literature is recognized for their career rather than any one outstanding piece of work. The Prize Committee look for a lifetime of writing in “an ideal direction” that is produced with style, quality and commitment. As you can see in the infographic, the prize covers all lit genres including fiction, drama, poetry, prose, and philosophy.

One of the things you’ll pick up on in the infographic is the disparity of numbers of winners between the sexes. This isn’t really surprising when you think about it. For centuries women were not able to work as professional writers in a world where even education for women was frowned upon and inaccessible. And gentle born women – those most likely able to write – were discouraged from earning their own living. So while the statistics in the infographic show a small number of female winners, in more recent times their force is coming to the fore.

What is less surprising is the average age of Nobel Literature laureates. Less surprising because, as previously stated the prize is awarded for a career and indeed, the infographic shows an average age of winners around 65 years. Doris Lessing stands out as the oldest Laureate, being awarded the prize at the age of 88 in 2007.

There are some very famous names included in the infographic. Maybe it has you wondering who the 2015 recipient will be? (It is announced in October every year). Maybe it will prompt you into finding out more about some of the past winners or even read one of their works. Will you learn more about Ernest Hemingway, Albert Camus, George Bernard Shaw or Gabriel Garcia Marquez?

Here are some facts about them to whet your appetite:

Ernest Miller Hemingway

Born July 1899
Prize winner 1954
American Hemingway is viewed as having had a significant influence on modern literature with his fictional works that were inspired by his adventurous life. His adventures include being an ambulance driver in World War One which influenced his novel A Farewell to Arms (1929), and fighting in the Spanish Civil War which led to For Whom the Bell Tolls (1940). His most famous work is arguably, The Old Man and The Sea (1954), which was adapted for a movie.

Albert Camus

Born November1913
Prize Winner 1957
Algerian-born French author Camus was a novelist, a short story writer, journalist, playwright, essay writer and philosopher. His major works are his novels which include
L’Ėtranger, 1942 (The Stranger), La Peste, 1947 (The Plague), and La Chute, 1956 (The Fall). Camus is accredited with assisting in the rise of the philosophy of absurdism.

George Bernard Shaw

Born July 1856
Prize Winner 1925
GBS was not only a playwright but also co-founder of the London School of Economics. Considered one of the great of English Literature, Shaw penned over 60 plays and was a highly respected journalist, writing pieces addressing social issues such as equal rights – for men and women, exploitation of the working classes, and the promotion of a healthy lifestyle. His most famous play is undoubtedly Pygmalion which became Oscar winning movie, My Fair Lady.

Gabriel Garcia Marquez

Born March 1927
Prize Winner 1982
Marquez is viewed as one of the 20th Century’s most influential authors, penning works that describe, in affectionate detail, life in rural Latin America. As well as being a novelist, the Colombian author was a screenwriter and journalist and also wrote short stories. His best known works are Love in the Time of Cholera (1985), One Hundred Years of Solitude (1967), and The Autumn of the Patriarch (1975).

Nobel Prize In Literature Visual

The Infographic was compiled by Alice Nadler and TopAussieWriters – an Australian company better known for their assignment writing services.

Written by: Derek Murphy

Derek is a book cover designer finishing a PhD in Literature. These days he spends his time building tools and resources to help indie authors publish better on his blog, Read More


Leave a Comment